Lawn Tennis
Australian Hopes: Lleyton Hewitt And Alicia Molik
By Ken Miller, Lawn Tennis Correspondent, Posted: Friday, December 7, 2007 1:45pm CST USA
In mid-January of 2008 the country of Australia will support its top tennis players to try to increase their chances of an Australian Open win. Two Australians have enjoyed some recent success at Melbourne, but have not yet won the singles titles.

In 2005 Lleyton Hewitt defeated world number two Andy Roddick before losing later in the final. That same year Alicia Molik surprised Wimbledon champion Venus Williams 7-5, 7-6(7-3) but then lost to Lindsay Davenport in the quarterfinals. Here we take a closer look at both players.

Australian Hopes: Lleyton Hewitt And Alicia Molik
Photo by ATP
Australian Hopes: Lleyton Hewitt And Alicia Molik
Photo by Getty Images
Tennis Player Lleyton Hewitt Alicia Molik
Birthdate February 24, 1981 January 27, 1981
Age 26 26
Height 5' 11'' (180 cm) 5' 11 3/4'' (1.82 m)
Weight 170 lbs (77 kg) 159 lbs. (72 kg)
Place Of Birth Adelaide, Australia Adelaide, Australia
Residence Adelaide, Australia Melbourne, Australia
Plays Right-handed Right-handed
Turned Pro 1998 1996
ATP/WTA Tour Rank 21 56
Career Record 466 - 150 292-207
Career High Ranking 1 (November 19, 2001) 8 (February 28, 2005)
Singles Tournaments Won 26 5
Career Earnings $17,271,212 $2,845,937
Grand Slams Won 2 (Wimbledon-1, US Open-1) 0
Weapon All court game, speed, defensive abilities Serve, groundstrokes, all court game
Best Australian Open Result Finalist in 2005 (lost to Marat Safin 1-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-4) Quarterfinalist in 2005 (lost to Lindsay Davenport 6-4, 4-6, 9-7)
Greatest Win Wimbledon in 2002 Olympics bronze medal in 2004
2007 Australian Open Result Lost in the 3rd round to 10th seeded Chilean Fernando Gonzalez 6-2, 6-2, 5-7, 6-4. Lost in the the 3rd round to 8th seeded Patty Schnyder of Switzerland 3-6, 6-2, 6-0.
Facts In 2001, became the youngest male ever to be ranked number one. Won her first grand slam doubles title at 2005 Australian Open with Svetlana Kuznetsova.

Copyright Lawn Tennis 1997-2008 | Home