Lawn Tennis, Ace Tennis Magazine, Lawn Tennis Magazine
Serena Williams Set For Abu Dhabi Return
By Ken Miller, Lawn Tennis Analyst, Posted: Sunday, December 24, 2017 4:47pm PST USA
Serena Williams Set For Abu Dhabi Return ABU DHABI-- The former world number one and the reigning Australian Open champion Serena Williams of the USA is set to make her return to the tennis court December 30th at Abu Dhabi.

This year in its tenth anniversary, in addition to hosting a multi-day men’s exhibition tournament, the Mubadala World Tennis Championship will stage a one match women’s exhibition between Williams and the world number seven and reigning Roland Garros champion Jelena Ostapenko of Latvia at 5:00 pm local time (5:00 am PST USA) on Saturday.

Serena Williams of the USA
Lawn Tennis
Serena Williams won her first grand slam singles title at the 1999 US Open at age seventeen.

The American has never before played Ostapenko.

Williams, ranked 22nd, has not played a WTA Tour match since winning the Australian Open in Melbourne in January due to her pregnancy.

In September, Williams gave birth to her daughter then in November married Reddit co-founder Alexis Ohanian.

“I am delighted to be returning to the court in Abu Dhabi for the first time since the birth of my daughter in September,” Williams said.

“The Mubadala World Tennis Championship has long marked the beginning of the men’s global tennis season and I am excited and honoured to be making my comeback as part of the first women to participate in the event. I look forward to seeing the fans in Abu Dhabi at the 10th Edition of the Championship very soon.”

The 23 time singles grand slam winner will look to fine tune her aggressive baseline game before the January 14th start of the two weeks long 2018 Australian Open, the first of four of tennis’ most important tournaments or grand slams which also include Roland Garros, Wimbledon and the US Open.

Williams won her first grand slam singles title at the 1999 US Open at age seventeen before winning Wimbledon in 2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2015 and 2016 for a total of seven singles titles.

Copyright Lawn Tennis 1997-2018 | Home